Songs of the Tłı̨chǫ Drum Dance

“Songs of the Tłı̨chǫ Drum Dance” is a recording of a special celebration of the New Year by accomplished northern drummers. This is a traditional time of excitement and happiness when people from all the Tłı̨chǫ communities come together in unity and togetherness. This recording showcases the drum songs of musicians from Behchokǫ̀, Gamètı̀, Wekweètı̀ and Whatı̀ during the 1982 New Year’s Eve Celebration in Behchokǫ̀, NT. The drummers include: Johnny Nitsiza, Jimmy Nitsiza, Philip Nitsiza, William Nitsiza, Joe Champlain, Menton Mantla and Louis Wedawin from Whatı̀; Alexis Arrowmaker and Johnny Eyakfwo from Wekweètı̀; Michel Rabesca, Paul Rabesca, Edward Lafferty, Morris Lafferty and Nick Black from Behchokǫ̀; and Germaine Eyakfwo and Harry Simpson from Gamètı̀.

Listen to Songs of the Tłı̨chǫ Drum Dance on the PWNHC website.


  • Songs of the Tłı̨chǫ Drum Dance from PWNHC